How to Become A C10 Electrical Licensed Contractor

What is an Electrical Contractor?

According to the California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Division 8, Article 3. Classifications, a C10 Electrical Licensed Contractor “places, installs, erects or connects any electrical wires, fixtures, appliances, apparatus, raceways, conduits, solar photovoltaic cells or any part thereof, which generate, transmit, transform or utilize electrical energy in any form or for any purpose.”

How Can You Get C10 Electrical Contractor License in California

Why do you need a C10 Electrical Contractor License in California?

If you want to work as an electrical contractor in California on any project that is valued at $500 or more, you will be required to obtain a C-10 electrical contractor license from the California Contractors State License Board (CSLB). If you contract without a license, you can be held legally answerable for it and might even end up with a potential sentence of six months in jail.

How Can You Get C10 Electrical Contractor License in California?

To get a C10 Electrical Contractor License in California, there are certain steps you need to follow to gather all the required documents and get your C-10 California Electrical Exam prep in line. Have a look:

  • You must have at least four years of on-the job experience at a journeyman level or higher. In addition, you must also pass two tests – a law and business test and an electrical contractor test. Only on successful completion of these two examinations can you be issued a license.
  • You must complete a California electrical apprenticeship program. These programs combine classroom instruction with hands-on training and take at least four years to complete. In addition, you must also take and pass a certification exam to get your Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship. You will need to include this Certificate in your C10 license application.
  • You will need to get employed as an electrical journeyman and complete one year of work in this position. Till this step, if you have completed an apprenticeship program, you will be given three years of credit and you will not have to put in the four-year general requirement.
  • Get an online copy of the Original Contractor’s License packet from the official CSLB website. Go through this pack and make yourself familiar with the basics of the licensing procedure.
  • Submit a Certificate of Work Experience from any employer under whom you have previously worked as an electrical journeyman. For applicants who have completed the apprenticeship program, you will only need to provide one year of such experience.
  • Complete the application and give it in for final processing and submission. Make sure you have provided all the supplementary documents and relevant fees and clearly mentioned the indicated address. When and if your application gets approved, you will receive a Notice to Appear for Examination and a request for your fingerprints. Guidelines will be provided on how to arrange your fingers to send an electronic copy of your prints to CSLB from your local Live Scan facility. The receipt you get from here will have to be submitted to the CSLB. Make sure you submit this receipt no later than 90 days after receiving your fingerprints request.
  • Once you have followed the above, you will be allowed to sit for the two required exams at the date and time you are provided with in your exam notice. In case of a failure to appear for the exam at the given date and time, you may be allowed to reschedule for a certain fee. Your test results will be available to you before you leave the testing site. Once you have completed the exam, you will be given instructions to submit a surety bond along with a proof of workers’ compensation insurance and a licensing fee.
  • Get a surety bond in the amount of $15,000 and submit the original bond to the CSLB within 90 days of the bond’s effective date. After this, get workers’ compensation insurance from any licensed insurance agency in California. Submit a copy of this to the CSLB.
    After you have completed the above and submitted your licensing fee to the CSLB, you will be issued a license. In addition, you will also get a wall certificate and a permanent wallet-size pocket license. You will be required to display the wall certificate in your office at all times.

How to Become a Licensed Plumber

Are you interested in becoming a licensed plumber in the state of California? Do you know what the requirements are? If this is a career path you’re serious about pursuing, read on to learn more.

What is a Licensed Plumber?

Plumbers are professional trades-persons who deal with the installation and repair of pipes and fittings. In particular, pipes and fittings which carry water or gas, as well as for heating and sanitation systems. Plumbers carry out their work in homes, offices, and factories.

Licensing is a very important aspect of becoming a plumber. This is because once a plumber is licensed they are certified as having the requisite knowledge, expertise, and experience to carry out their work according to recognized plumbing standards.

Licensed plumbers are awarded a compliance certificate which can be shown to their employers. This certificate testifies that a plumber is meeting all relevant plumbing codes, standards, and regulations on the job. They also have insurance which is intended to help their customers in the event that the plumbing work was faulty.

Plumbers that are not licensed may be penalized for carrying out plumbing work without a license.

Interested in Becoming a Plumber? Here’s What You Have to Do

Because plumbing is a trade profession, individuals who wish to become plumbers must meet certain requirements.

Education

Plumbing technology programs are designed to teach students about the fundamentals of plumbing. These courses are typically offered at community colleges or vocational schools and last for two years.

Some of the courses that are offered in these programs include:

  • Welding
  • Plumbing tools
  • Pipe system design
  • The safe use of equipment and tools

Apprenticeship

Alternatively, candidates may also enroll in a plumbing apprenticeship. Apprenticeships are offered by plumbing unions and business and can last anywhere from 2 to 3 years. These programs include both practical experience components, which are often paid training opportunities with licensed plumbers, and formal classes.

For candidates looking to join an apprenticeship, the following requirements apply:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must hold a high school diploma or GED
  • Must have knowledge of how to use computers
  • Must pass a substance abuse test
  • Must know basic math

The California Plumbing License Exam

In order to sit for a plumbing exam, prospective plumbers must have met certain education and experience requirements.

The California Plumbing License Exam is needed in order to work as a licensed contractor in California. Any individual who intends to work as a plumbing contractor that is responsible for constructing, altering, or repairing a building or structure needs to be licensed. This is especially so if the total cost of the job is or exceeds $500.

The California Contractors State Licensing Board (CSLB) is the authority that regulates plumbing contractors.

How do you get a license?

In order to get a plumbing license, candidates must appear for two exams. The first exam relates to trade knowledge in the field of plumbing. The second one covers aspects of law and business related to plumbing. Some study material can be helpful like C36 License Study Guide for exam preparation.

How do you qualify for the exam?

To qualify for the plumbing license exam in California candidates must:

  • Have a minimum of 4 years worth of experience as either a foreman, supervisor, or journeyman
  • At least 1 year worth of practical experience
  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Submit a full set of fingerprints
  • Undergo a thorough criminal background check

License Renewal

The California Contractors State Licensing Board (CSLB) requires licensed plumbers to renew their license every two years.

You will not be expected to satisfy any additional education requirements at the time of renewal.

Exam Format

The California Plumbing Exam has five major sections. These are:

  • Planning and Estimating
  • Rough-in Plumbing Systems
  • Finish Plumbing Installations
  • Service, Repair, and Remodel Plumbing Systems
  • Worker and Job Site Safety

After reviewing all of this information, you can decide whether or not you want to give the exam. The California Contractors State Licensing Board (CSLB) offers up to date information about the license application process as well as useful study materials that can help you pass the exam. If becoming a plumber is something you really want to do, you’ll need to go through the process of licensure in California.

How to a Get Law and Business Contractors License

Why Study Business Law?

A Law and Business Contractors license by the California Contractors State License Board (CSLB) is required to perform work on a majority of construction projects in California. In California, all individuals and businesses that construct or alter, or offer to construct or alter, any construction project except federal projects has to be licensed by the CSLB. This is especially true when the entire cost of materials and labor is $500 or more.

Obtaining this license is a long process of careful considerations. Here are the things you will have to take care of in order to get licensed:

Know Who Can Become a Licensed Contractor

To qualify for this license, you will need to meet certain criteria, which requires that you must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Possess a social security number
  • Be able to show that you have the required experience and expertise needed to take care of the daily activities of the construction business

Acquire the Required Experience

An individual, who wishes to be qualified for this license, must possess at least 4 years of experience at the journey level, within the ten years before the application for the license. Candidates will only be given credit for experience as a foreman, journeyman, contractor, supervising employee or owner-builder. In addition, all relevant experience will have to be verified by a qualified individual who has first-hand knowledge of the individual’s work during the relevant time frame.

As a qualifying individual, you can get credit as follows (for up to a maximum of 3 years):

  • Up to 1.5 years of credit can be attained upon submitting of transcripts relating to an Associate of Arts degree from an accredited college. The degree needs to be in building or construction management.
  • Up to 2 years of credit can be received if transcripts for a (i) 4-year program from an institution that is accredited, are submitted in the fields of business, accounting, physics, economics, mathematics or a related field, (ii) a professional degree in law, (iii) a significant amount of university-level work in subject areas of accounting, business, architecture, drafting, construction technology, mathematics, engineering, economics or physics.
  • Up to 3 years of credit can be attained if any of the following are submitted: (i) a Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship from an accredited program or a certified document that signifies the completion of apprenticeship training from a union in the classification being applied for; (ii) official academic records for a four-year degree from an accredited college in any field, such as architecture, engineering, construction technology or others that are directly relevant to the classification being applied for; (iii) transcripts of a four-year degree from an accredited university in the subject areas of horticulture, if applying for a Landscaping classification.

How to Study for Business Law Exam

Know the Classifications a Contractor Can Be Licensed In

For contractors in California, there are three different classifications available. These include:

  • Class “A” – General Engineering Contractor: The main business for such a contractor is related to fixed works that require specialized engineering know-how.
  • Class “B” – General Building Contractor – The main business for such a contractor is related to any structure constructed, in the course of being constructed, or set to be constructed at a time in the future, requiring in its building procedure the use of at least two distinct building trades or crafts. Carpentry and framing projects can be performed without constraint. Class “B” contractors also have the option of entering into direct contracts for projects that involve only one trade, given that the contractor holds the relevant specialty license.
  • Class “C” – Specialty Contractor: For this classification, there are 42 separate options for contractors, whose foremost business involves the application of specific building trades or crafts.

Apply for a Contractor’s License

The application procedure for a contractor’s license requires you to follow certain steps. These include completing and submitting the following:

  • An Application for Original Contractor License – In case of individuals, corporations and partnerships
  • An Application for Original Contractor License (Exam Waived) – In case of individuals, corporations and partnerships with a qualifying person
  • An Application for LLC Original Contractor License – In case of LLCs
  • An Application for LLC Original Contractor License (Exam Waived) – In case of LLCs with a qualifying individual

In the options above where you are required to give an exam, you must submit the relevant application, along with a processing fee of $330 (the amount being charged currently) to the CSLB. In cases where you do not need to give the examination, you ought to submit the relevant application with a processing fee of $300 (the amount being charged currently), along with a preliminary licensing fee (currently $200) and an additional classification fee of $75 (the amount being charged currently).

Note: The applications need to be submitted in person or through mail to the CSLB. Even though the CSLB has different offices, the office in Sacramento is the only one that accepts the applications. The address for this office is: P.O. Box 26000, Sacramento, CA 95826.

Know the Requirements of the Examination

If you are giving the examination, there are certain requirements you will need to. You will be required to pass a written law and business exam for it you have to prepare Business Law Practice Exam and a specific trade exam. You will be allotted 3.5 hours for each exam, which would always be in a multiple-choice format. The centers for exams are typically located in Fresno, Oakland, Sacramento, San Bernardino, Norwalk, Oxnard, San Jose and San Diego. The details for your exam venue and date, along with a study guide, will be sent to you by the CSLB.

In certain cases, the Board may waive the examination. These cases involve:

  • If the individual is currently licensed and has a good reputation in the same classification in which he is now applying for a license
  • If the individual has been licensed and has had a good reputation within the last five years in the same classification in which he is now applying for a license
  • If the individual has passed both the law and business examinations and trade examinations within the past five years, in the same classification in which he is now applying for a license
  • If the individual is the immediate family of a person who is already licensed, and has had a good reputation for five out of the past seven years, prior to the application procedure. The qualifying individual must be deeply involved in the licensee’s business for five out of the past seven years and is applying for the same classification, and the license is mandatory to go on with the operation of an existing family business due to the absence or death of the licensee.

Note: In cases where you think that you might be entitled for an examination waiver, you will still be required to fulfill the “Experience” section of the application. This is, unless you are a current qualifier on a license in good standing in the same class, as the license you are now applying for.

Additional Documents that You May Need to File

Either with your application, or at a later time specified by the CSLB, you need to submit the following documents and provide relevant information:

  • Contractor Bond  (Currently $15,000): This needs to be submitted in the business name of the applicant
  • Qualifying Individual Bond or Alternative (Currently $12,500): The bond of the qualifying individual must be in his/her own name and the business name of the person applying
  • Proof of Workers Compensation Insurance or Exemption Certificate: This is to provide proof of workers’ compensation or an exemption certificate to certify that no workers are employed

In addition to these requirements, LLCs are also required to submit the following items:

  • Surety Bond (Currently $100,000): In the event of a LLC’s failure to pay wages, fringe benefits or interest on wages, along with other such contributions, this surety bond is meant to be for the benefit of affected employees or workers
  • Liability Insurance: Proof of liability insurance, with a cumulative limit of $1 million for licensees who have five or lesser employees, and an added $100,000 for each additional employee. However, the amount must not exceed a total of $5 million.

How to Renew Your Expired License

Valid licenses expire every two years, while inactive licenses will expire every four years. Keeping this in mind, you should know the expiration date of your license and renew well in time.

The License Renewal Process

CSLB will send you a renewal application, approximately 60 days before your license is due to expiry. To ensure the smooth performance of this process, make sure you inform the Board of any address changes, in a timely manner

Note: In case if you do not receive the renewal application, you can order one online or simply call the CSLB at 1-800-321-CSLB (2752).

You have to send your renewal application to the CSLB before the expiry date is passed, in order to avoid any unlicensed time. The responsibility of following through with the renewal process lies with you, and not with the Board, even if you do not receive the form.

Bear in mind that the processing time can vary significantly, therefore you should submit the renewal form in a timely manner.

Renewal Fees

The renewal fees would vary according to the time-frame in which you renew.

  • Timely Active Renewal – $360
  • Timely Inactive Renewal – $180
  • Delinquent Active Renewal – $540
  • Delinquent Inactive Renewal – $270

The delinquent fee option comes into play if an acceptable renewal is not received on or before the date of expiry.

Changes in License Structure:

If the nature of the business entity in question has changed (for instance, from a sole proprietorship to partnership, corporation etc), you will not be able to renew the license.

Note: You can renew a suspended or expired license as well.

If your application for licensure is approved, you will receive a Letter of Acknowledgement from the CSLB. This will contain a nine-digit Application Fee Number and a four-digit Personal Identification Number. You can use these to track your application on the CSLB website. The application processing can take up to 3-4 months, therefore wait patiently. You may contact the CSLB if you have any other concerns.

How to Get a HVAC Contractors License

Hvac Study GuideHow to Get HVAC Contractors License: A heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) license is required by individuals who install, repair or maintain heating and cooling systems in residential or commercial constructions. This is especially true of projects that exceed $500. It will also be a requirement for people who sell service contracts to new and existing clients.

Education Requirements for Obtaining your HVAC License (C-20)

There are several factors you will need to ensure to get the HVAC contractors license Proper educational requirements will have to be fulfilled. A prospective HVAC technician must successfully finish high school or receive a GED. During this time, they should ideally take classes in industrial arts, math, electronics, physics and mechanical drawing. After completing school, the candidate may join an accredited HVAC training program. These training programs offer a curriculum based on studying the principles of HVAC installation and repair along with subjects such as blueprint reading, equipment design and temperature control. These programs may take six months to two years to complete.

Apprenticeship

The apprenticeship program may last anywhere from 3-5 years. Formal programs might allow candidates to combine their theoretical and practical learning practices. During an apprenticeship program, the prospective HVAC technician would shadow a licensed HVAC technician and simultaneously receive classroom training as well. These programs are offered by professional unions.

License Examination

Once you are finished with your apprenticeship program, the next step would be taking the actual HVAC License Exam. These exams test a prospective HVAC technician’s ability to exhibit a satisfactory knowledge of the various aspects of HVAC installation and repair. In addition to that, some exams might also test the applicant’s knowledge of electrical codes. Bear in mind that HVAC technicians who intend to work with refrigerants are also required to acquire an additional certification. For this, they must pass a second written examination that focuses on the relevant subject matter Hvac Study Guide can be helpful for such exams.

The following pointers must be kept in mind before applying for your exams:

  • The eligibility requirements will vary according to the classification and the state you are giving the exam in
  • You will be required to pay an application fee
  • You will be required to sit for two exams: business and law and trade
  • Before you sit for the exams, the board must approve your application
  • You will need a pre-approval from the state to sit for the exam
  • You will be required to have at least 4 years of experience to qualify for the exam – experience at the journeyman level, foreman or supervisor level, contractor level or as an owner/builder will be taken into consideration
  • All experience must be verifiable
  • All applicants must have a working capital of at least $2,500
  • All applicants must file a bond with the Registrar in the amount of $10,000
  • The exam has nearly 100 questions and a maximum time of around 2-2.5 hours
  • You will need at least 72% marks on the exam to pass it

(Note: Some of these requirements are specific to the State of California – for your state specific requirements, please check the relevant websites.)

What Topics to Prepare For the Exam?

There are numerous study guides available online and otherwise to help you prepare for the exams. These would include text book materials on the areas you need to cover, along with some practice tests. Whether or not you are purchasing a study guide, you should ideally have a good grasp on the following topics:

  • HVAC System Evacuation & Design
  • Duct System Design
  • Installation
  • Duct System Fabrication
  • Air Distribution and Duct Systems
  • Service, Maintenance and Repair
  • System Checks
  • Safety
  • Personal Protective Equipment
  • Documentation of Hazardous Materials
  • System Installation and Start Up
  • Electrical, Plumbing & Refrigeration Components
  • Air Filtration Installation
  • Duct Repair and Sealing
  • Installation and Replacement of Thermostats
  • New Installation and Routine Maintenance of AC & Heating Systems
  • Heat Pump Installation

This is a general overview of the subject areas you might be questioned on. Be sure to check the detailed topics covered, as guided by the official State Boards.

Save

How to Become a Licensed Asbestos Abatement Contractor

How to Become a Licensed Asbestos Abatement ContractorRegistration for Asbestos Abatement Certification California

How to Become a Licensed Asbestos Abatement Contractor

A C-22 Asbestos Abatement license is issued by the CSLB, only to applicants who are registered with the Department of Industrial Relations’ Division of Occupational Safety and Health (DOSH) or have an active application for registration in process with the Division. In case the applicant does not have any proof of being registered with DOSH, CSLB will issue the license on the condition that the contractor submits the said proof within 90 days following the license issuance. In such an instance, the contractor may not begin any asbestos related work until the required proof has been submitted to the CSLB.

For the registration process to be completed, you must provide proof of the following:

  • Certification by the CSLB, unless you are a public or private employer operating on your own premises
  • Health insurance of a trust account of $500 for each employee to take care of the medical examinations and monitoring. This does not apply to contractors who do not have any employees
  • Workers Compensation Insurance coverage
  • An initial Cal/OSHA approved contractor/supervisor class of a total of five days with a one-day refresher each year
  • Relevant worker training consisting of the above Cal/OSHA approved supervisor class along with an annual course in asbestos-removal
  • Proof of compliance with the relevant occupational safety and health standards
  • Written asbestos removal operating procedures and policies
  • List of all the machinery and equipment required to perform such work

In the initial review process, DOSH will analyze the documentation, along with your compliance history and the procedures you have proposed. They might also need you to provide additional explanations or revisions to the procedures if they consider it necessary. Once you pass this initial review, you will be issued a registration certificate, valid for a time period of 1 year, unless revoked.

Training Requirements for Asbestos Abatement Certification

To obtain the Asbestos Abatement Certification, the applicant should have completed the relevant training requirements contained in Section 1529 of Title 8 in the California Code of Regulations. Get the detailed information regarding the required trainings and the class levels it covers from the CSLB website.

Experience Requirements for an Asbestos Abatement Certification California

As with all other general and specialty classifications under CSLB, every applicant for the C-22 classification will also be required to fulfill certain experience requirements. Within the 10 years, immediately prior to the application process, the applicant should have at least 4 years of experience performing asbestos abatement processes as a foreman, journeyman, contractor or a supervising employee. A Certification of Work Experience must be submitted. The criteria for places an applicant can get the relevant experience from, has also been defined by the CSLB. If the applicant does not have experience as specified by the Board, but does have some knowledge and understanding in another setting, he should submit any relevant documentation – it will be considered on a case-to-case basis.

Application for the C-22 Asbestos Abatement Contractors License

Following is a list of items you will need to take care of before you submit the application:

  • All applicants for this license must be at least 18 years of age
  • Show the full business name exactly as it appears on CSLB records
  • Enclose a non-refundable fee of $75 along with your completed application. The CSLB will not process the application if this amount is not made payable to the Registrar of Contractors
  • Your application may be returned if it is insufficient or not complete. You will be required to provide the missing information and resubmit the application to the Bureau within 90 days after the date it was returned to you. Upon failure to do so, your application becomes void and you will have to submit a new application along with the $75 fee
  • Complete the application in black or dark blue ink, with a typewriter, or on the form provided on the CSLB website. Forms completed in pencil will be returned
  • Provide full legal names. If you do not have a middle name, write “none” in place of it
  • Leave no answer space blank
  • The contractor license needs to be active and in good standing before it can be granted. In case it is not, the application will not be accepted
  • You will need to provide the complete street address for both your business and place of residence

When the CSLB receives your application, a notice of acknowledgement will be sent to you explaining how to check the status of the application online or by calling the 24-hour automated phone system at CSLB. The notification will also contain information on how to submit your fingerprints as required. Do not forget to include the Application Fee Number in any correspondence.

The C-22 Examination

As with all CSLB classifications, applicants for the C-22 Asbestos Abatement classification must also pass a trade examination and a law and business exam. The exam can be scheduled as early as 15 days from the acceptance of your license application. A complete study guide and other related information is available from the CSLB online. You can also get information regarding the exam by calling the automated 24-hour phone system at (800) 321-CSLB (2752).

The process to becoming a licensed asbestos abatement contractor may be long, but putting in the effort at the right time would be very beneficial for you in the long run. So take some time and research well into all the things you will need to successfully obtain this license.

Save